Weather and Avalanche Log

Precip and wind are taken between 4-6 a.m. and are for the previous 24 hours. Precipitation is recorded in SWE from SNOTEL and Ski Areas
SNOTEL Locations: Brackett - Bridgers; Shower - Hyalite; Lone - Big Sky; Carrot - S. Madison; Madison - W. Yellowstone; Fisher - Cooke
Ski Area SWE: Alpine - Bridger; Timber - YC

Date Northern Areas Southern Areas Wind Speed Wind Direction Avalanche Activity Notes
Tuesday 10/16/18
0.0/0" Bridger
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Timber
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Lionhead
0.0/0" Fisher
5-10 E-NE
Monday 10/15/18
0.0/0" Alpine
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.0/0" Fisher
5-15
G30 Alpine
W-SW
Sunday 10/14/18
0.2/2" Bridger
0.1/1" Shower
0.2/2" Lone
0.2/2" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
10-15 NW-W
Saturday 10/13/18
0.4/5" Bridger
0.2/2" Shower
0.2/3" Lone
0.3/3" Carrot
0.2/2" Madison
0.3/3" Fisher
5-15 W-NW
Friday 10/12/18
0.1/1" Brackett
0.0/0" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.0/0" Carrot
0.0/0" Madison
0.1/1" Fisher
15-25 G30 SW Skier triggered, partially buried
Thursday 10/11/18
0.1/1" Bridger
0.1/1" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.2/2" Carrot
0.2/3" Madison
0.1/1" Fisher
5-10 WSW
Wednesday 10/10/18
0.6/7" Brackett
0.1/1" Shower
0.5/5" Timber
0.4/4" Carrot
0.1/1" Madison
0.1/1" Fisher
5-15 E-NE
Sunday 10/7/18
0.2/2" Bridger
0.6/0" Shower
0.2/2" Lone
0.2/2" Carrot
0.1/1" Madison
0.2/2" Fisher
5-10 NNE

@ 1400

Friday 10/5/18
0.8/7" Bridger
0.8/6" Shower
0.6/4" Lone
0.4/4" Carrot
0.4/2" Madison
0.4/2" Fisher
5-15 G20 W-SW
NW Lionhead
Ski Patrol triggered at Big Sky

FIRST REAL ENTRY

Taken @1500

Thursday 9/27/18
0.2/2" Brackett
0.4/4" Shower
0.0/0" Lone
0.2/4" Carrot
0.2/2" Madison
0.3/3" Fisher
15-20
G60 Hyalite
NW-NE Snowmo remote trigger Lionhead

Test Test

Monday 9/17/18
0.7/0" Brackett
0.3/3" Shower
0.3/6" Lone
0.2/2" Carrot
0.3/0" Madison
0.3/0" Fisher
10-20 G60 Hyalite E-SW Wet loose R0.1 D0.5

3-6" Snow at Big Sky. Rain in the valley. Snow on the peaks TEst Test Test

Thursday 9/13/18
0.3/4" Brackett
0.3/3" Shower
0.1/2" Lone
0.6/6" Carrot
1.0/10" Madison
0.3/7" Fisher
10-30
G40 Big Sky
G80 Cooke
W-SW
NE Cooke
Forecaster Remotely triggered

More tests Avalanche Warning for Lionhead

Wednesday 9/12/18
0.4/4" Alpine
0.0/0" Shower
0.3/3" Timber
0.3/3" Carrot
2.0/15" Madison
1.1/11" Fisher
10 G100 100

First big (not) storm. test. Avalanche Warning

Tuesday 9/11/18
0.6/7" Brackett
0.2/5" Shower
0.1/0" Lone
0.1/-0" Carrot
0.3/5" Lionhead
0.5/7" Fisher
10 G40 W

Great entry

Tuesday 9/11/18
0.6/10" Sacajewea
0.1/0" Shower
/
/
/-1" Lionhead
0.0/0" Fisher

Test

Tuesday 9/11/18
0.0/0" Brackett
0.1/0" Shower
0.1/0" Lone
-0.1/-0" Carrot
/-1" Lionhead
0.0/0" Fisher
10-25 G 45 SW-W

Other notes

Monday 9/10/18
0.0/0" Brackett
0.4/4" Shower
0.5/5" Timber
0.2/3" Beaver
0.7/7" Lionhead
1.1/10" Fisher
20 G45 ENE

Test 1234569

Thursday 9/6/18
5-10 S Natural on the Fin;
Explosive triggered wet slabs on depth hoar from August. Historical runouts, broke trees and took out one lift tower

TEst

Monday 8/6/18
8-12" Wind slabs, Big Sky

This is a test from Kabul.

Monday 7/16/18
16 G40 W-SW

It is mid-July